This feels like my last chance.

Public forum, tell us about yourself and what brings you to StayLDS!
Minyan Man

This feels like my last chance.

Post by Minyan Man »

I joined the LDS church as a Senior in College with my wife & (4 year old daughter).
One week later my wife became an exwife & moved with our daughter to California.

My Bishop was very supportive & helped me get through this situation.

I graduated college & moved to my 1st job, met my current wife who was very active in the church. We were married in the SLC temple, had (2) sons, were active & happy. We have had various positions over the years & I thought I was prepared to handle anything that life would give me. I was wrong.

My daughter would come & visit with us during the summer months. She was active in her ward in California. Then, early one morning I got a phone call. (Early morning calls are never good.) My former in-laws were telling me to get my daugher out of California & away from her mother. I found out that my daughter was being abused. Her mother had quickly become inactive & went off the deep end. (Drugs, etc.) I got my daughter back to live with us. She was 13 years old & stayed until 18, when she went to college.

I thought I was prepared. I couldn't understand how God could allow the abuse of children in this way. I understand that: "bad things happen to good people". This is some of the things I experienced as a result of this situation:
A. When I prayed, all I got was silence. I felt like I was part of a cosmic practical joke.
B. I didn't feel inspired to hold any Church positions or keep the commandments.
C. I didn't feel that I had any Priesthood authority or the right to act as if I did.