Considering coffee

Public forum for those seeking support for their experience in the LDS Church.
TinSoldier

Considering coffee

Post by TinSoldier » 12 May 2021, 20:29

In all of my 60 years I have never had any temptation to drink coffee, but now I am giving it serious consideration. Here's why. I've been fighting cancer for the past 11 years. While I'm very grateful to still be around to fight, the treatments I've had, and am still receiving, have left me with a pitifully low stamina. I get winded and worn out far too easily. At my recent visit at the oncologist's it was, again, a topic of discussion. The drugs that treat my prostate cancer just about zero out my testosterone, cause loss of muscle and bone mass, and other fun stuff. The chemo I went through a couple of years ago also left more fatigue in its wake. I often have energy drinks, but frankly I can't afford them every day. I am the sort of person who believes that if you sincerely need a drug to get you through the day then there's no shame in using it and for me, that's caffeine. I just need it in a form my wallet can handle on my tight budget.

I really don't like being reliant on this sort of thing, but on days I don't have a high octane energy drink I'm just dragging around and feel like I'm made of lead. Caffeine isn't a magic bullet, but it definitely makes a positive change for me. And coffee is the only way I can see that I can afford to have it on a regular basis. It probably sounds like a joke, but it would literally be for medicinal purposes...presuming I can learn to like the flavor.

Minyan Man

Re: Considering coffee

Post by Minyan Man » 12 May 2021, 20:56

TinSoldier, I'm sorry to hear about the cancer diagnosis.

I personally don't see a problem in the use of coffee or tea. It's like anything else I wouldn't drink it all day. We live in a society
where the answer for any ailment seems to be, take a pill. For what it's worth, try it & see if it helps. If you have an issue