Women and Religion

Public forum for topics that don't fit into the other categories.
amateurparent

Women and Religion

Post by amateurparent » 08 Jan 2016, 12:30

http://www.thegospelcoalition.org/artic ... the-church

I found the above article thought provoking .. And spot on.

Any one else have an opinion?
I have no advance degrees in parenting. No national credentials. I am an amateur parent. I read, study, and learn all I can to be the best parent possible. Every time I think I have reached expert status with one child for one stage in their life, something changes and I am back to amateur status again. Now when I really mess up, I just apologize to my child, and explain that I am indeed an amateur .. I'm still learning how to do this right.

university

Re: Women and Religion

Post by university » 08 Jan 2016, 13:32

Yes, I agree. And I don't think these points should be limited to religion. They happen in everyday life.

However, I think a lot of the time we are socialized to treat women a certain way, or view them a certain way, but we don't even know it. It's not always that a person views women as a temptress or child...they just have sub-consciously learned how to treat women. I guess that goes for everything. Gender roles and acceptable behaviors associated permeate a lot of how we do things. We're so immersed we don't know that we're doing it.