Seminary is so hard - conversation with my daughter

Public forum for topics that don't fit into the other categories.
SilentDawning

Seminary is so hard - conversation with my daughter

Post by SilentDawning » 04 Dec 2013, 20:18

Just want to say I am finding Seminary very hard. I have to get up very early, sometimes after a very long evening working on my PhD or work (often to wee hours in the morning). I question the value of forcing the kids and parents to get up that early every morning. My daugther is often very drained as she is of slight build.

She did aay that one reason she goes is that she feels the spirit -- provided a certain disruptive youth isn't there. Nonetheless, I have to confess, I am not really a proponent of early morning seminary. I would love to hear reasons why it's so great to have early morning seminary though, to temper the negative sentiments I feel about it....
"It doesn't have to be about the Church (church) all the time!" -- SD

"The individual has always had to struggle to keep from being overwhelmed by the tribe. No price is too high to pay for the privilege of owning yourself."

A man asked Jesus "do all roads lead to you?" Jesus responds,”most roads don’t lead anywhere, but I will travel any road to find you.” Adapted from The Shack, William Young

DarkJedi

Re: Seminary is so hard - conversation with my daughter

Post by DarkJedi » 04 Dec 2013, 20:26

Having had two kids go through the program and two more currently attending, my sentiments match yours almost exactly. DW was seminary teacher for three years, so that made it a bit easier since she had to go anyway, but it was a very difficult calling because she works full time. I'm not a huge fan, and some days we do have difficulty getting the boys up and going and sometimes they have trouble staying awake at school.