More discussion on Temples, Women and a Rant

Public forum for topics that don't fit into the other categories.
wonderingcurrent

More discussion on Temples, Women and a Rant

Post by wonderingcurrent » 25 Nov 2011, 18:56

Okay I thought it would be good to review and have everything I feel in one place about the Temple. Right now its spread across two or three different discussions that I have participated in (possibly more). I will try to do my best making everything cohesive. Please add to this discussion.

The following are my own feelings on what I have been thinking upon during these Discussions:

1) The Name Symbolism: One of the reason stated why the man needs to know the woman's name, and the woman does not need the man's name is that resurrection is an ordinance, therefore it is the man who will resurrect his wife. And the wife will not ever resurrect the husband, it will always be one way. But when I studied the second anointing, and looked past its very patriarchal terminology I realized, as I also read that passage of Mary washing and anointing Christ's feet, that this was something very essential to be done. Christ did not stop her for he understood it as an exercise of her priest(ess)hood and he had really no authority to stop what she was doing, because he saw the necessity of it. For now the second anointing is done on an invitation bases only for those who are in the top leadership positions of the Church. As a side note: I highly doubt the second anointing as currently practiced, with the men initiating it in the Temple, and the Woman finishing it at home, is the way it is supposed to be, but evolved to be this way due to the Colored glasses and sheet of paper as discussed Either in my post on Women and the Church or in my post in Another Feminist (my introduction post).