Same-Sex Attraction + No Testimony = Faith Crisis

Public forum, tell us about yourself and what brings you to StayLDS!
Syme

Same-Sex Attraction + No Testimony = Faith Crisis

Post by Syme » 05 Nov 2016, 20:28

Well maybe it isn't as simple as that.

I'm a student, up-coming grad, at BYU. I think I went because I didn't want bad roommates, or maybe because everyone in my family is a BYU grad. I'm not sure.
But I thought I had a testimony. It felt good to think about a loving, just God; someone who would make everything right. I'm naturally an emotional person so it wasn't hard to feel "the spirit" when I listened to inspirational quotes or beautiful hymns.

I can't say there was one day when "everything changed", but it was a process. As I got older I became less emotional and less sensitive. Church, hymns and talks didn't give me the same emotional feelings. Anything resembling the spirit I could counterfeit with listening to beautiful, non-religious music. These feelings resembled "the spirit" too closely for me.
I stopped going to church unless I was forced to be there. I was gaining nothing (spiritually speaking) from being at church.

I had always known I had same-sex attraction, but never really admitted it to myself until College. Thinking that I may never marry in this life bothered me, but it wasn't life changing. I thought "I'm already an introvert, I'm terrible with kids, so this is a blessing in disguise :) "

But what really bothered me is that God had allowed me to have these attractions. Why me? What purpose do they serve? Can I change? I can't say if this is true for everyone, but I strongly believe my same-sex attractions aren't equivalent to heterosexual love that other people feel. I don't want to get into the dirty details here, but they just didn't feel like how love should be. I still wasn't interested in forming a relationship with anyone, man or woman.