TBM and wanting to stay that way but....

Public forum, tell us about yourself and what brings you to StayLDS!
spacerasta

TBM and wanting to stay that way but....

Post by spacerasta » 16 Apr 2015, 18:45

Hello everyone, this is my first time posting here. I have a lovely wife and two children. I served a mission in Fort Lauderdale in 2004 to 2006 and I have been active most of my life, except for about two years before my mission. I really believe I've prayed about the church and had an answer that its true but I've been down paths on both my mission and off that make it hard. My sister (transgendered male to female) hasn't come out to my family yet. She's thought of suicide as alternative. I'm in full support of the change, I'm in support of all LBGT, which makes it hard to reconcile in regards to my faith. I've also struggled with depression and self medication, I do my best to avoid it, but sometimes its hard and I resort to taking pain pills to manage it. I'm well versed in the history of the church, I've also read the CES letter, Mormonism: Shadow or Reality, and The God makers. None of that bothered me a ton, but once the questioning started, its hard to make it stop. Long rant made short, its hard to feel at home in the church due to LGBT family, depression, and reasonable doubt. Any advice?

hawkgrrrl
Site Admin

Re: TBM and wanting to stay that way but....

Post by hawkgrrrl » 16 Apr 2015, 19:39

Here's how I think change happens (aside from slowly):
1 - the tolerant minority is uncomfortable due to the intolerant majority. If they speak up, they are shouted down, outed, or ostracized. This stage works fine so long as society at large is in agreement with the intolerant majority.