I am Lookinghard

Public forum, tell us about yourself and what brings you to StayLDS!
LookingHard

I am Lookinghard

Post by LookingHard »

I hope this isn't too long.

Here is where I am coming from.

Somewhat common story, except I don’t live all that near Utah. I grew up in the church from convert parents that both tried hard to do what was right and were good parents. We didn’t pray every night before bed, but we did go to church every week and were always active in the church.

I was a very dutiful teenager and stayed so into my mission. I never felt like I had any bolt of lightning moments, but just before my mission I did have what seems to be to be a very solid spiritual experience that logically can’t be dismissed as me just feeling some kind of emotion. I am an engineer by profession and not quite as logical as Mr. Spock (but I try to be). As such I can write off much of my feelings as just my feelings for many things that I think others claim to be the spirit. But make no mistake – I am a hard working and obedient member. I have done some hard callings for long periods of time – even for years after being burned out. You just keep going – period. I always felt like I wasn’t measuring up – not having the spiritual experiences that others seem to have. I have never had a spiritual experience in the temple and in fact I have had some negative feeling there as I feel some of the blessings promised are not coming to me.