NOM in FL

Public forum, tell us about yourself and what brings you to StayLDS!
falcosp

NOM in FL

Post by falcosp » 03 Feb 2011, 07:41

I love the NOM board and recently joined StayLDS, so I thought I'd introduce myself.

I have always loved to research and learn, and I think as a child and teen I frustrated my TBM parents and church teachers by wanting all the meat of the gospel since I had already internalized the milk and wanted more! I had perfect attendance at early morning seminary for 4 years, had a full scholarship to BYU, and avidly lived my religion. I met and married my DH at BYU and quickly realized that the Mormon portrayal of marriage as the ultimate path to happiness wasn't what I had been led to believe. I was surprised at how much work it took! But since I had made temple covenants, I worked hard at it, and after 16 years we are still working at it!

Over the years, as I studied the scriptures, lesson manuals, and church history, as I attended the temple and memorized the information necessary to pass the angels, as I listened to every session of general conference and then studied the talks in the Ensign, I began to have more and more questions. Over the course of many years, I learned things that made me very uncomfortable with my religion, but every time I was able to do mental gymnastics and keep pressing forward--until last year when I realized that my testimony was gone. I then found mormonthink.com and read every bit of it and learned new things and reviewed things I had studied in the past. I felt sick as I realized I was experiencing a sea-change and could never go back. I agonized over what to do and who to tell of my loss of faith. I eventually shared with my husband, and a few close friends. They are all grieving for me and are sure that my loss of testimony is just a further sign of the times, as even the elect will be led away by the cunning of the devil!