Feeling left out

Public forum for those seeking support for their experience in the LDS Church.
REBEL2

Feeling left out

Post by REBEL2 » 22 Sep 2019, 18:24

So I am new to my job and have to work weekends. I took a vacation day to attend church not an easy task only being there 7 months . Went to church with my wife and noone even noticed us !!! Felt pretty bad !!! Advice ???

Minyan Man

Re: Feeling left out

Post by Minyan Man » 22 Sep 2019, 19:36

Rebel, I'm sorry you feel that way. I have only 1 suggestion. Try to treat others as you want them to treat you.
Introduce yourself. Ask questions. Talk to the youth or children sitting near you. Talk to the Missionaries.
I am not a natural extravert. It does take effort.

mom3

Post by mom3 » 22 Sep 2019, 20:50

Ouch. I am likely a guilty party on that type of thing. I barely get through church some Sundays. Though I am an extrovert, I keep it locked down at church. If I know you I can be pleasant. Otherwise, I am the quintessential avoider.

Reading your post is gentle reminder that sticking my head in the sand for my ego's sake does have negative consequences.

As a lifetime attendee, different wards do better at it than others. My parents ward excelled at embracing, introducing and connecting with people. For the most part though, Mormons job is to enter the chapel quietly - don't talk. Move out to class in a herd. Regurgitate information. Get your Sunday Celestial Stamp and then move on.

I think Minyan Man has it right, you may need to do some reaching out on your own.

Also, maybe turn it around, having a Sunday where people don't bombard your personal space is a good thing. You can use those weeks to observe others and get a read on them first. - Just a thought.
"I stayed because it was God and Jesus Christ that I wanted to follow and be like, not individual human beings." Chieko Okazaki Dialogue interview