Stage 4 Grief/Mourning

Public forum for those seeking support for their experience in the LDS Church.
AmyJ

Stage 4 Grief/Mourning

Post by AmyJ »

How do you handle how someone dies now that your perspective has changed so much and you aren't sure about an afterlife, judgement, or the plan of salvation?

I have been poking around this topic in my brain for several months now without success.

BACKGROUND:
My step-grandmother died about a month or so ago. I am saddened by passing, but relieved that she is free from the pain and suffering she was going through. She was in her 70's/80's with a terminal brain tumor. She followed the State of California's death on a person's terms statues and set a time-table for her passing. She was also raised a member of the church, but left 30+ years ago. When I would visit her we would sing hymns together sometimes. She taught me a lot about owning a respectful relationship with a spouse - both in terms of expectations and in her personal choices. [This is mentioned because my TBM husband looks down on her leaving the church belief system, and my TBM(ish) mother looking down my step-grandmother's decision to time her death instead of having her time of death left undefined.]

MAIN TOPIC:
I feel the loss - mostly that there is no longer an opportunity for her to teach me other things.

What I did not expect to feel was the emptiness/gaping abyss when contemplating her passing into the next life. For the first time, I was not certain of an afterlife. The concept of Heaven or Paradise rang hollow for me. I can deaden this by not thinking about it or talking about it in very limited terms. Does this feeling go away eventually?

The only blanket of thought that has helped in bridging what I knew then with what I believe now is this:
I choose to believe that she [and everyone else who dies] return back to that God that gave them life."