EQ Exclusive Activities

Public forum for those seeking support for their experience in the LDS Church.
amateurparent

EQ Exclusive Activities

Post by amateurparent » 20 Jul 2016, 20:48

So you all know that I left the church and my husband has stayed. He is struggling to connect socially in the ward without a wife to be there with him. I attend SM sometimes in order to support him .. But he is often on his own socially at church.

So .. Tomorrow night .. Some of the ward guys are getting together to watch the new Star Trek movie. Steve asked about it. He was told it was "Elders' Quorum Only" .. And Steve doesn't qualify because he is a HP.

I understand that they were focused on an EQ event. I get that. But a little kindness of letting him sit through a movie with them would've gone a long way. It would've been so kind and Christian to include him.

Assholes.
I have no advance degrees in parenting. No national credentials. I am an amateur parent. I read, study, and learn all I can to be the best parent possible. Every time I think I have reached expert status with one child for one stage in their life, something changes and I am back to amateur status again. Now when I really mess up, I just apologize to my child, and explain that I am indeed an amateur .. I'm still learning how to do this right.

unsure

Re: EQ Exclusive Activities

Post by unsure » 21 Jul 2016, 00:07

We had those too and I didn't really see the purpose. If a HP wants to come along then what's the problem? I always made sure to invite several HP in our ward because there were so many that were young (under 40). They wouldn't always show up, I think some felt they couldn't but others did and their company was always enjoyed. Age aside, I don't see the problem with including someone if they've expressed interest in going.

LookingHard

Post by LookingHard » 21 Jul 2016, 04:46