How do you connect, spiritually?

For the discussion of spirituality -- from LDS and non-LDS sources
Featherina

How do you connect, spiritually?

Post by Featherina » 08 Apr 2010, 08:51

I've never been one for cermonial rituals...I didn't even walk when I graduated with my BS (not that it was BS :) but that it just seemed like show. Years later, I regretted it. I worked hard, & it wasn't easy to finish my degree but I did & that cermony may have helped make that accomplishment more real, in feeling a healthy pride. I've also realized that ceremonies can be powerful, not just superficial show.

In whetever we do, it's the spirit, feeling or intent that matters. As Mother Terresa said, "We can do no great things, only small things with great love." If I take the sacrament & think, "This is just a silly tradition based on a fable, taken too literally" then I probably won't have much feeling...& I do think there's truth in feeling. But if I think of the sacrament as symbolic for taking in part of God, so that I realize my connection & part of God (as God's child) then it may have more feeling & meaning.

Maybe, religion, especially Mormonism, with the temple & all of the symbolism, has the potential to bring me to God, if I find ways to connect, spiritually. I'm learning as I go. I no longer view Jesus as most members do, so when I hear his name in songs, I think of "Pure love/knowledge."

Have you found ways of connecting in the church, spiritually?

Rix

Re: How do you connect, spiritually?

Post by Rix » 08 Apr 2010, 09:35

Okay, I'll bite. I really like your approach, Featherina -- you seem to have learned what works for you...particularly as it concerns how to "stay LDS."

I'm known here to take a diagonal approach to things. So, to step way back as it relates to this topic, I have to ask the basic questions of what is "Spirit?" What/Who is God? What is a "spiritual experience?" The answers for me today are much less certain than they have ever been.