LDS TED Talk posted today

Public forum to discuss interesting and helpful books.
amateurparent

LDS TED Talk posted today

Post by amateurparent »

The below TED Talk posted today. Chelsea Shield talks about gender. There are things we find acceptable in religion that would be intolerable in government or business. That double standard exists in all religions. She talks about her religion -- the LDS church -- abd her efforts to make changes from within.

I would be interested to get feedback from this group.

http://www.ted.com/talks/chelsea_shield ... 2015-11-12
I have no advance degrees in parenting. No national credentials. I am an amateur parent. I read, study, and learn all I can to be the best parent possible. Every time I think I have reached expert status with one child for one stage in their life, something changes and I am back to amateur status again. Now when I really mess up, I just apologize to my child, and explain that I am indeed an amateur .. I'm still learning how to do this right.
university

Re: LDS TED Talk posted today

Post by university »

As I just went on a gender rant in the Indeterminate Gender Thread, I thought I'd come here.

As someone sick of seeing liberal, well-meaning non-Mormons say things like, "It's a sexist religion, what do you expect?" And "Religious wackos are always going to be wackos" and "I don't get it. Why try to change things? If you don't like the religion, just leave." I really appreciated this talk and will be saving some lines from it, especially the part about finding a way to respect religions while also having conversations about the negative impacts of some of their policies/teachings (paraphrasing).

Thanks for sharing :thumbup:
LookingHard

Post by LookingHard »

Jokingly I was going to write, "I couldn't hear a thing she said because her sleeves were 1 inch too short." Then she brought it up in that it was going to keep her from being with her family after she dies.